💰 7 steps to build your first side hustle

Everyone should have a side hustle that makes them 1-3K per month.

Everyone should have a side hustle that makes them 1-3K per month.

If this newsletter has been forwarded to you, join us here:

Most of us have not been taught how to monetize our knowledge and skills.

So, today I will teach you how to build a digital product to sell online.

- ebook

- a step by step guide

Call it what you want.

It's the productisation of what lives inside your head.

Learnings from your career.

What you call common sense.

And your customer calls a goldmine of value.

Let’s get into it!

This week’s edition of the Huntrs Newsletter is brought to you by:

My first ebook was free.

During 2022 I used to get hundreds of asks per day from people who were looking for a remote job.

So I put together a guide that I could direct people to.

It was called “Remote Freedom”.

Thousands of people downloaded it.

This ebook lived inside my head.

It was easy to put it together and give value to people.

So, I’ll show you the steps I used when I launched my second, third, fourth and the fifth guide I’m working on now.

Those are not free.

They sell while I sleep.

People from all over the world buy them.

Here’s how I create digital products:

1. Test it 👀

How do you know its a good idea and a product people are willing to pay for?

Here's 5 ways to test this out:

  • use your day job: what's the one thing people ask you for in your job/profession? what is your network, friends, family asking you for help with?

  • is their a product you wish existed? that you would buy?

  • if you have an idea, ask people if they would be willing to pay for it

  • once you have a topic, go to platforms and search for it. Does it seem like a good idea for a product? Reach out to someone who's already selling this kind of product and ask for their input (you have nothing to lose)

  • if you're already selling coaching, a program, or a service based offer, consider taking some of those skills and putting them into a guide or an ebook. This way, you will be able to have a low priced offer and more people can afford to access your products.

Example:

I’ve had my personal branding program since July 2022.

I took all of that knowledge and created digital products so more people can access and learn how to build audience, personal brand and organic pipeline.

I’ve built an entire ecosystem around this.

Because people want to learn how to build an audience and an organic pipeline to generate more business.

Build a product that solves a problem.

2. Decide on format for your digital product 📗

Once you have chosen a topic people are willing to pay for, you need to decide on the right format.

Some prefer video, others written guides/ebooks, some a mix…

I used a software for my first ebook "Remote Freedom" so it had the look and feel of an ebook.

All of the other guides that I sell these days I put together in a simple slide deck and make a pdf out of it.

  • make it fun to learn and read (there’s so much boring stuff out there, turn yours into an experience)

  • use real life examples - tell stories: it’s the most effective way to make people listen

  • pitch your other products in every product you make - cross-reference to enable upsell

I like to keep it simple.

3. Distribution 💰

  • decide on what platforms to sell on - I love Gumroad. They charge 10% on every sold product. For me its a no brainer. It’s simple, to the point, you don’t have to handle anything on your own (purchases, taxes etc) and you can build a great email list through them.

  • decide where you will promote your digital product. Think: traffic → landing page → conversion → revenue

Both of them wanted to reach my audience.

4. Tell people who’s it for 🔥

Set the right expectations.

Tell people who the product is for.

Example:

Tell people what they will learn.

Example:

5. Price 🤝

Before you have built up trust, offer a lower pricing.

Start with 20-70 EUR per product.

Once you have built up trust with your audience, you can increase prices.

My plan is to keep my digital guides low priced to be able to offer my products and services to more people.

6. Overdeliver 📈

Give more value than the buyer expects.

This always has the greatest returns.

And how do you start building trust?

Start with building an audience:

- share stories

- write like you talk

- share your knowledge

- build an organic pipeline

- don't take yourself too seriously

- show as many sides of yourself as possible

Grab attention through storytelling.

Personal storytelling receives 7x more engagement and 4x more reach

Provide value - keep showing up.

7. Ask people for testimonials on your digital products 🙏

Like this:

In case you missed it…

🌎 Want to reach 73,000+ people? You can now sponsor The future of work newsletter - book your spot here

💯 11 Content ideas that drives revenue - reverse engineer for your content

🔥 How to create momentum in your life - learn how here

💪 This has been my playbook for building a 6-figure business

🎙️ I interviewed Greg Isenberg on the future of building online businesses and this is what he said

Early-stage startup life 😂

Hope you found this edition helpful to get started with your first side hustle.

For any questions on the 7-step process, just hit reply - I’m just a message away! 🪃

Get started today - you got this!

👛 PS. April 4th (tomorrow), is Gumroad Day! Which means I’m offering a 25% discount from today on all my guides on Gumroad. Use the discount code “FREEDOM” at checkout. The discount is valid from now until end of day tomorrow, 4th of April CEST.

🔥 Here’s 4 ways I can help you:

  1. Need help to build demand for your business or monetize your skills and knowledge and build multiple income streams? Send me an email: [email protected]

  2. Ready to become a thought leader and grow your audience & personal brand? Grab my guides or book a coaching call with me

  3. We turn CEOs and investors into thought leaders and build organic pipeline for them.

  4. Want to sponsor this newsletter and get your brand in front of 2900+ founders, builders, entrepreneurs, and leaders? Book your spot here (open spots in 2 weeks)

Read loads of customer testimonials here 🔥