🔥 You are the niche

Here's why you should not niche down

10 years ago, a serial entrepreneur said to me:

"You are the business idea"

Back then I didn't understand what that meant.

It sounded fluffy to me.

Fast forward - a little more than 2 years ago, January 2022 to be exact, I was convinced personal branding was going to become the next big thing to grow businesses in B2B.

So I decided to double down on it and started posting content here every single day.

6 months later, in June 2022 I left my 9-5.

When you want to start building an audience, some people will tell you:

“pick a niche - if you don’t you will not be able to convert anything to business…"

This is the old school approach.

Your personal brand should be a mix of your unique:

experience

voice

career

knowledge

skills

thoughts

interests

observations

failures

wins

learnings

opinions

obsessions

the way you write

the way you sound

I spent a ton of time analysing what the biggest creators did well and how they did it.

In 2022 I started following Dan Koe.

This guy doesn't need an intro.

Dan speaks about this topic a lot.

And finally it clicked for me.

This is the difference between people who build massive audiences but can’t monetise it.

People who build audiences and only educate and struggle with monetisation.

People who build audiences and only post the latest news in tech and struggle with monetisation.

People who build audiences and only post inspiring/relatable content eg. quotes. and struggle with monetisation.

People who build niched audiences and still can’t sell.

When you read the above sentences you probably saw a few creators in front of you who do this daily on this platform.

The “glue” in their content is missing.

The personal element is missing.

They speak about their niche all day, every day, and eventually it becomes boring to follow them.

And for them it's risky.

When the market is shifting, what will they do?

They need to start all over.

You are the niche

So, what does this line really mean then?

Are we all supposed to speak to everyone through our content?

And create generic content?

No.

Just the opposite.

Here’s 3 of the most read and liked editions of Huntrs:

→ This is what you should do:

🔥 1 - Decide what you want to be known for:

This should be a mix of your interests, knowledge, experience, your business offering, and your skills.

For me it is:

go to market

startups

content-led growth

revenue growth

future of work

personal branding

entrepreneurship

That means I also write and share content on mindset and lifestyle.

Does it mean I’m selling to everyone?

No.

Isn’t this a niche? No.

It’s a unique mix.

This is the essence of a personal brand.

I post educational, inspiring and entertaining content.

I have a highly targeted landing page.

That makes it crystal clear: who I am, what I do and how to work with me.

People are not one topic.

You’re not one topic.

And your client is not either.

🔥 2 - Write for one person - write for everyone

Everyone should be able to understand your posts.

Some will learn from them.

Some will relate to them.

And some will engage with them.

Top of the funnel content should be wide.

And it also supports how the algorithm works.

You need REACH to build audience and convert traffic to revenue.

🔥 3 - Write about your topics with your unique voice.

Share personal stories.

Share other people’s stories.

Share your values.

Share content that makes you relatable.

→ Here’s a great example:

The post has nothing to do with what I sell in my business.

But every builder, leader and founder out there knows that if you want to build a high performing team - building culture is key.

I show my values through this post.

And people all around the world, who believe in the same things I do, reach out and want to work with me.

During the last 12 months I’ve sold to clients in 25+ countries.

🔥 4 - To create great content you need to understand your target audience

This means; who they are, what they care about, what they want in life, their pains, their struggles, what motivates them, their desired outcomes, their challenges, the lifestyle they want etc etc.

Content on social media is all about emotions.

We are all just people.

🔥 5 - You need to have a clear and targeted LinkedIn profile.

When I turned mine into a landing page, everything changed.

I created the guide I wish I had back then.

🔥 6 - Make sure you know how to play the game before you start posting.

Knowing what moves the needle, and what doesn't will help you to keep going when you want to quit.

🔥 7 - You need to be consistent.

Most people quit. Build a system to help you stay consistent when you want to quit.

Don’t put people in a box

We are all so much more than one topic.

Build your own unique niche - YOU - this is how we build trust.

By being our unique and authentic selves.

This is the essence of a personal brand.

I guarantee you will sell more and grow faster if you adopt this approach.

Because, people buy from people.

You are the niche.

→If you want to work with me and learn how to build your personal brand, and more demand for your business - reach out via my website or reply to this email.

See you on Wednesday đź‘‹

PS. Do you want to get your brand in front of 3050 builders and đź‘€? Book your spot here